Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Championship Preview: Ottawa chasing second straight Monilex Trophy

Team with trophy
Photo: Greg Mason

(U SPORTS) – One year after their first-ever national title, the Ottawa Gee-Gees are tournament favourites heading into the 2018 U SPORTS Women's Rugby Championship after holding the pole position in the Top 10 for the entire season.

The 2018 U SPORTS Women's Rugby Championship, hosted for the first time by Acadia University, kicks off on Thursday at Raymond Field and concludes next Sunday with the gold-medal final at 4:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. PT. Live-streaming is available on USPORTS.LIVE.

Ottawa Gee-Gees

  • Playoff finish: RSEQ champions
  • Regular season / playoff records: 7-0 / 2-0
  • Last U SPORTS championship: 2017
  • Total U SPORTS championships: 1
  • Team offence: 56.3 points/game
  • Team defence: 7.3 points allowed/game

Team Leaders

Defending a national title can be a daunting task, however the 2018 Ottawa Gee-Gees women's rugby team is unbothered by lofty expectations. Powering through their exhibition and regular season schedule, the Garnet and Grey have racked up wins against nationally-ranked Laval, Carleton, and StFX, en route to a fifth-consecutive undefeated RSEQ regular season.

The Gee-Gees boast an eye-popping nine RSEQ all-stars, as well as the conference's Rookie of the Year, Claire Gallagher. Despite sporting a roster peppered with provincial and national team talent, the scariest fact about this Gee-Gees team is their depth. With a dominant pack, the Gee-Gees have great strength in the scrum led by props Maya Montiel and Ellen Murphy. For their opponents speed also kills, with 2017 All-Canadian backs Sam Alli and Alex Ondo on the wings.  Emily Gray, the team's fly-half is a do-it-all force for the Gee-Gees, a powerful runner, stiff defender, and precise kicker that racks up points for the team.

CHAMPIONSHIP SCHEDULE 

Full championship schedule at USPORTS.ca 

Wednesday, Oct. 31

All-Canadian Awards Gala, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT

Thursday, Nov. 1 (Quarter-finals)

Calgary vs. Laval 10:30 a.m. ET / 7:30 a.m. PT

StFX vs. Queen's, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT

Guelph vs. Victoria, 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 a.m. PT

Ottawa vs. Acadia, 6 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. PT

All games livestreamed at USPORTS.LIVE.

 

As the official Rugby Ball Supplier of U SPORTS, Gilbert Rugby Canada will provide match balls and other prizing to the 2018 U SPORTS Women's Rugby Championship hosted by Acadia University from Nov.1-4 at Raymond Field in Wolfville, N.S.