Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Gee-Gees Football 2019 Hall of Fame Class Announcement

Headshots of five players being inducted

The University of Ottawa Gee-Gees football program is pleased to announce the 2019 Hall of Fame class of inductees. This year, the program will recognize five alumni who won championships during their time with the Garnet and Grey.

  • Jean Gauthier (1967-71), a five-time OUA all-star at offensive tackle and Atlantic Bowl champion in 1970
  • All-Canadian running back Mike Giftopoulos (1976-80), member of the 1980 Atlantic Bowl Champion Gee-Gees and recipient of the Don Loney Trophy as Atlantic Bowl MVP
  • Two-sport athlete Ousmane Tounkara (1994-97), a two-time All-Canadian receiver who helped the Gee-Gees capture three consecutive Dunsmore Cups from 1995-97
  • All-Canadian Linebacker Mark Pretzlaff (1998-01), the third member of the 2000 Vanier Cup champion Gee-Gees defence to be inducted
  • Linebacker Mike Sheridan (2003-07) a key defender for the Yates Cup champion Gee-Gees in 2006 and All-Canadian in 2007.

The Hall of Fame inductions will take place at the annual Touchdown Dinner, Saturday, April 27 at the Canadian War Museum. Tickets and sponsorship opportunities are now available. 

Gee-Gees Football Touchdown Dinner 2019 Info:


Canadian War Museum, Lebreton Gallery
1 Vimy Place, Ottawa, ON, K1A 0M8


·         $150.00 – Football Alumni

·         $150.00 – Friends of the Program

·         $100.00 - Football Alumni 2014-present

·         $1,500 per table (10 seats per table)**

**With the purchase of a table, you will receive 10 vouchers redeemable for a Gee-Gees regular season home game of your choice, excluding the Panda Game.

Register online

For more information please contact Ashley Burrill 613-562-5800 x4328 |